In the west one of the four dhams is Dwarka, which is also one of the seven holy cities or Saptapuris. Archaeological excavations indicate that Dwarka is built on four former cities. Much of the present town was submerged by the rising sea levels. There is evidence to suggest that the city was a large poart at least as far back as the 15th century B.C.

One of the four original Maths founded by Adi Shankaracharya is in Dwarka.Both Shri Ramanujacharya and Shri Madhavacharya visited this place. In the middle of the town is Dwarkadheesh temple. The five stareyed temple is buit on 72 pillars. The temple spire is 235 ft. high. From the temple domes waves a multicoloured flag decorated 84 feet long - Lord Krishna’s great grandson Vajranabha is said to have built the original temple of palace. The sanctum of the temple dates back at least 2,500 years. There are two entrances to the temple the main entrance is called Swargadwara. Outside this doorway are 56 steps that lead to the Gomati River. The main deity in this temple is Lord Dwarikadheesh on the centre attar. To the rigt of the main deity there is a temple having the deity of Lord Baldev Ji. The temple to the left of the main deity hosts a big deity of Pradyumora and a small deity of Aniriddha, the son and grand son of Lord Krishna.