Kanchipuram is known as the ‘Golden city of Temples’. It is considered one of the seven main sacred cities of India. It has over a hundred temples and is believed to give eternal happiness to one who goes there. It is said that ‘Ka’ (Brahma) ‘Anchi’ (worshipped) Lord Vishnu at this place and that is why the city was given the name Kanchi, Puram means ‘city’. Kanchi was the capital of the Pallavas from 7th to 9th centuries. The city is divided into two main parts Sivakanchi and Vishnukanchi. Kailasanatha and Vaikuntha Perumal temples were the most important temples built by the Pallavas, Varadaraja. Kamakshi and Ekambareswara temples were originally built by the Cholas but were added onto by the Vijayanagar and Nayak rulers. There are thirteen Divya Desam temples in the area of Kanchipuram namely Sri Vaikunthaperumal temple, Sri Varadaraja Swami temple, Sri Adi Varaha Perumal temple, Sri Deeparakast temple, Sri Yathoktakari temple, Sri Alagiyasingar temple, Sri Nilathingal Thundalthan Perumple temple and others. Kanchipuram is also known as Satyavrata Kserta due to Aswamedha sacrifice performed here by Lord Brahma. Throughout its history, kanchipuram remained one important pilgrimage centre. (25) At present many pilgrims visit this place.